Type 2 Diabetes

**WARNING GRAPHIC PICTURES****


I want to talk about something near and dear to me – Diabetes. I’m assuming from my posts you know my father has been going through a rough time.  My father suffers from type 2 Diabetes.  Just this past week the doctor discovered a piece of the bone in his foot had a block spot. She immediately had to go in and cut some more bone out of his foot.
My point to all of this is you can help prevent type 2 Diabetes by lowering your risk factors.  Which include excercise and eating a healthy nutritional diet. One of the two main reasons that I took back control of my health is my fear of getting Diabetes and the fear of leaving my son before it was my time.
Did you know Diabetes affects every organ in your body?  It has destroyed my dad’s gall bladder and it had to be removed.  He’s had to have several eye surgeries. Diabetes is the leading cause of blindness.  My dad had got a staph infection in his foot and had to be wheel chair bound for 6 months.  He no has an infection in his other foot.
Below are some risk factors for type 2 Diabetes:

Weight.

The more fatty tissue you have, the more resistant your cells become to insulin.

Inactivity.
The less active you are, the greater your risk. Physical activity helps you control your weight, uses up glucose as energy and makes your cells more sensitive to insulin.

Family history.

Your risk increases if a parent or sibling has type 2 diabetes.

Race.
Although it’s unclear why, people of certain races — including blacks, Hispanics, American Indians and Asian-Americans — are at higher risk.

Age.
Your risk increases as you get older. This may be because you tend to exercise less, lose muscle mass and gain weight as you age.

High blood pressure.
Having blood pressure over 140/90 millimeters of mercury (mm Hg) is linked to an increased risk of type 2 diabetes.

Abnormal cholesterol and triglyceride levels.

If you have low levels of high-density lipoprotein (HDL), or “good,” cholesterol, your risk of type 2 diabetes is higher. Triglycerides are another type of fat carried in the blood. People with high levels of triglycerides have an increased risk of type 2 diabetes.
If you can reduce two of these factors your chances of getting type 2 Diabetes can be decreased significantly.  Contact me with any questions.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

